Board of Educational Examiners Staff Directory

Due to the large volume of requests, transactions in the summer take a minimum of four to six weeks to process. Please do not contact our office to check the status of an application if it has been less than six weeks.

In the new online system, the last step of any application is to click "submit application". This is an additional step after submitting payment. We will not receive your application until you click "submit application" in the final confirmation step.




Board of Educational Examiners
Grimes State Office Building
400 East 14th St.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147

Location: Third Floor, Southwest corner
Grimes State Office Building
(E. 14th and Grand) - Des Moines


Licensure Consultant Directory
Career and Technical Education David Wempen 515-281-3605
Coaching Steve Mitchell 515-281-6896
Conditional Licensure - Administrators Greg Horstmann 515-281-3587
Conditional Licensure - Regular Education David Wempen 515-281-3605
Conditional Licensure - Special Education Mike Cavin 515-281-3437
Conversions (any consultant)    
Counseling - endorsement (teachers) and professional service license (non-teachers) Dr. Linda Espey 515-725-2146

Driver’s Education and Behind the Wheel Authorization

Greg Horstmann 515-281-3587
Endorsements – adding to an existing license (any consultant)    
Extensions Joanne Tubbs 515-281-3611
Letter of Good Standing Joanne Tubbs 515-281-3611
Military Exchange Licensure Dr. Linda Espey 515-725-2146
Native Language Speaker Authorization Dr. Linda Espey 515-725-2146
Paraeducators Mike Cavin 515-281-3437
Praxis/edTPA Testing Joanne Tubbs 515-281-3611
Principal Licensure Greg Horstmann 515-281-3587

Professional Service Licenses (non-counseling, such as school psychologist, speech language pathologist, school social worker, etc.)

Mike Cavin 515-281-3437
Renewals (any consultant)    
SAM Licensure Greg Horstmann 515-281-3587
School Business Officials David Wempen 515-281-3605
Special Education Mike Cavin 515-281-3437
Statements of Professional Recognition Mike Cavin 515-281-3437

Substitute Authorization (non-teacher preparation)

Greg Horstmann 515-281-3587

Substitute License (teacher preparation)

Dr. Linda Espey 515-725-2146
Superintendent Licensure Greg Horstmann 515-281-3587
Teacher Licensure – Prepared at out of state college for PK & Elementary Dr. Linda Espey 515-725-2146
Teacher Licensure – Prepared at out of state college for Secondary areas David Wempen 515-281-3605

Teacher Licensure – Iowa Teacher Intern Program

Joanne Tubbs 515-281-3611


Additional Staff Members
Background Checks Danielle Brookes 515-281-3482

Teacher Licensure – New Iowa Graduates

Sherry Jensen 515-281-8323
Executive Director Dr. Ann Lebo      515-281-5849
Board Secretary Kim Cunningham 515-281-5849
Attorney/Investigator – Ethics Complaints Darcy Hathaway, J.D. 515-242-6506
Investigator Jim McNellis 515-281-3483
IT Specialist Jeff DeBruin       515-242-6797