Board of Educational Examiners Staff Directory

Please note that BOEE offices will be closed the following days:
November 24 & 25, 2016
December 26, 2016
January 2, 2017
January 16, 2017

 

Address: Board of Educational Examiners
Grimes State Office Building
400 East 14th St.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147
Location: Third Floor, Southwest corner
Grimes State Office Building
(E. 14th and Grand) - Des Moines


Licensure Consultant Directory
Career and Technical Education David Wempen david.wempen@iowa.gov 515-281-3605
Coaching Steve Mitchell steve.mitchell@iowa.gov 515-281-6896
Conditional Licensure - Administrators Greg Horstmann greg.horstmann@iowa.gov 515-281-3587
Conditional Licensure - Regular Education David Wempen david.wempen@iowa.gov 515-281-3605
Conditional Licensure - Special Education Mike Cavin mike.cavin@iowa.gov 515-281-3437
Conversions (any consultant)    
Counseling - endorsement (teachers) and professional service license (non-teachers) Dr. Linda Espey linda.espey@iowa.gov 515-725-2146

Driver’s Education and Behind the Wheel Authorization

Greg Horstmann greg.horstmann@iowa.gov 515-281-3587
Endorsements – adding to an existing license (any consultant)    
Extensions Joanne Tubbs joanne.tubbs@iowa.gov 515-281-3611
Letter of Good Standing Steve Mitchell steve.mitchell@iowa.gov 515-281-6896
Military Exchange Licensure Dr. Linda Espey linda.espey@iowa.gov 515-725-2146
Native Language Speaker Authorization Dr. Linda Espey linda.espey@iowa.gov 515-725-2146
Paraeducators Mike Cavin mike.cavin@iowa.gov 515-281-3437
Praxis/edTPA Testing Joanne Tubbs joanne.tubbs@iowa.gov 515-281-3611
Principal Licensure Greg Horstmann greg.horstmann@iowa.gov 515-281-3587

Professional Service Licenses (non-counseling, such as school psychologist, speech language pathologist, school social worker, etc.)

Mike Cavin mike.cavin@iowa.gov 515-281-3437
Renewals (any consultant)    
SAM Licensure Greg Horstmann greg.horstmann@iowa.gov 515-281-3587
School Business Officials David Wempen david.wempen@iowa.gov 515-281-3605
Special Education Mike Cavin mike.cavin@iowa.gov 515-281-3437
Statements of Professional Recognition Mike Cavin mike.cavin@iowa.gov 515-281-3437

Substitute Authorization (non-teacher preparation)

Greg Horstmann greg.horstmann@iowa.gov 515-281-3587

Substitute License (teacher preparation)

Dr. Linda Espey linda.espey@iowa.gov 515-725-2146
Superintendent Licensure Greg Horstmann greg.horstmann@iowa.gov 515-281-3587
Teacher Licensure – Prepared at out of state college for PK & Elementary Dr. Linda Espey linda.espey@iowa.gov 515-725-2146
Teacher Licensure – Prepared at out of state college for Secondary areas David Wempen david.wempen@iowa.gov 515-281-3605

Teacher Licensure – Iowa Teacher Intern Program

Joanne Tubbs joanne.tubbs@iowa.gov 515-281-3611

 

Additional Staff Members
Background Checks Danielle Brookes danielle.brookes@iowa.gov 515-281-3482

Teacher Licensure – New Iowa Graduates

Sherry Jensen sherry.jensen@iowa.gov 515-281-8323
       
Executive Director Dr. Ann Lebo ann.lebo@iowa.gov      515-281-5849
Board Secretary Kim Cunningham kim.cunningham@iowa.gov 515-281-5849
Attorney/Investigator – Ethics Complaints Darcy Hathaway, J.D. darcy.hathaway@Iowa.gov 515-242-6506
Investigator Jim McNellis jim.mcnellis@iowa.gov 515-281-3483
IT Specialist Jeff DeBruin jeff.debruin@iowa.gov       515-242-6797